Mandalit del Barco http://wqcs.org en Writer Gabriel Garcia Marquez, Who Gave Voice To Latin America, Dies http://wqcs.org/post/writer-gabriel-garcia-marquez-who-gave-voice-latin-america-dies Latin American author Gabriel Garcia Marquez, who won the Nobel Prize in literature in 1982, died Thursday. He was 87. Garcia Marquez, the master of a style known as magic realism, was and remains Latin America's best-known writer.<p>His novels were filled with miraculous and enchanting events and characters; love and madness; wars, politics, dreams and death. Thu, 17 Apr 2014 21:30:00 +0000 Mandalit del Barco 42350 at http://wqcs.org Writer Gabriel Garcia Marquez, Who Gave Voice To Latin America, Dies Jesse Winchester, Musician And Muse To Icons, Dies At 69 http://wqcs.org/post/jesse-winchester-musician-and-muse-icons-dies-69 <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5uKGWpqnS8E</p> Fri, 11 Apr 2014 20:00:00 +0000 Mandalit del Barco 42079 at http://wqcs.org Jesse Winchester, Musician And Muse To Icons, Dies At 69 Sony Pictures To Lay Off Interactive Group http://wqcs.org/post/sony-pictures-lay-interactive-group Transcript <p>RENEE MONTAGNE, HOST: <p>NPR's business news starts with Hollywood layoffs.<p>Sony has notified California's Labor Board that come June it will lay off more than 200 employees at its movie and television studios.<p>NPR's Mandalit del Barco reports this is happening in a film industry that's facing across the board cost cutting.<p>MANDALIT DEL BARCO, BYLINE: Sony Pictures Entertainment will reportedly lay off its entire interactive marketing team responsible for online movie promos like this.<p>(SOUNDBITE OF MOVIE PROMO)<p>UNIDENTIFIED MAN: Officials searching for answers as to wh Wed, 19 Mar 2014 09:08:00 +0000 Mandalit del Barco 40968 at http://wqcs.org Alice Herz-Sommer, Pianist And Holocaust Survivor, Dies At 110 http://wqcs.org/post/alice-herz-sommer-pianist-and-holocaust-survivor-dies-110 Renowned concert pianist Alice Herz-Sommer, once thought to be the oldest living Holocaust survivor, has died at age 110. Her story is told in the Oscar-nominated film, The Lady in Number 6. Mon, 24 Feb 2014 21:00:00 +0000 Mandalit del Barco 40016 at http://wqcs.org Sunday Assembly: A Church For The Godless Picks Up Steam http://wqcs.org/post/sunday-assembly-church-godless-picks-steam It sometimes <em>feels</em> like church in the auditorium of the Professional Musicians union in Hollywood. It's a Sunday morning, and hundreds of people are gathered to meditate, sing and listen to inspirational poetry and stories.<p>But then the live band starts up — performing songs by the Beatles, the Rolling Stones and Jerry Lee Lewis. Tue, 07 Jan 2014 07:57:00 +0000 Mandalit del Barco 38055 at http://wqcs.org Sunday Assembly: A Church For The Godless Picks Up Steam How 'Black Nativity' Made Its Way To The Big Screen http://wqcs.org/post/how-black-nativity-made-its-way-big-screen This season, Fox Searchlight has served audiences a three-course menu of movies with African-American casts and themes.<p>First, it served an appetizer in September, with the romantic comedy <em>Baggage Claim,</em> starring Paula Patton as a flight attendant looking for a husband in a hurry.<p>Then, in October, the studio set out a substantial main course with <em>12 Years A Slave</em>. The sweeping epic by director Steve McQueen is already an Academy Award shoo-in.<p>Now, <em>Black Nativity</em> is Fox Searchlight's dessert, a sweet Christmas tearjerker. Thu, 05 Dec 2013 23:17:00 +0000 Mandalit del Barco 36787 at http://wqcs.org How 'Black Nativity' Made Its Way To The Big Screen Drummer Chico Hamilton, West Coast Jazz Pioneer, Dies http://wqcs.org/post/drummer-chico-hamilton-west-coast-jazz-mainstay-dies <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZNaSZmKL65I</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uXULG-UKVq8</p> Tue, 26 Nov 2013 22:53:00 +0000 Mandalit del Barco 36407 at http://wqcs.org Drummer Chico Hamilton, West Coast Jazz Pioneer, Dies AK-47s, Accordions And Angels Of Death: Narcocorridos Hit The Big Screen http://wqcs.org/post/ak-47s-accordions-and-angels-death-narcocorridos-hit-big-screen <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UaJ_hru9Qk4</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OCNhQxWXkcw</p> Tue, 26 Nov 2013 07:03:00 +0000 Mandalit del Barco 36352 at http://wqcs.org AK-47s, Accordions And Angels Of Death: Narcocorridos Hit The Big Screen Comcast Deal Puts New Minority-Run Channels In Play http://wqcs.org/post/comcast-deal-puts-new-minority-run-channels-play Rapper and producer Sean "Diddy" Combs, director Robert Rodriguez, and basketball legend Magic Johnson each now has his own new cable TV networks. Their channels were part of a merger deal Comcast made with the FCC to give a shot to new networks owned by African Americans, Latinos and others.<p>Last month, Combs threw on his classic Puff Daddy alias to welcome millennial viewers to his new music network, Revolt.<p>"This is really happening, people," the rapper said at the launch. "A boy from Harlem is really standing on a stoop in Brooklyn launching a network worldwide. Tue, 12 Nov 2013 08:08:00 +0000 Mandalit del Barco 35751 at http://wqcs.org Comcast Deal Puts New Minority-Run Channels In Play 1 In 7 American Adults Don't Go Online http://wqcs.org/post/1-7-american-adults-dont-go-online Fifteen percent of Americans don't use the Internet, according to a survey by the Pew Research Center. Most of these "offline adults" are 65 years old or older, many live in rural areas and have incomes lower than $30,000 a year. Thu, 26 Sep 2013 09:06:00 +0000 Mandalit del Barco 33756 at http://wqcs.org